Login Form

MyAccount

 
I've forgotten My...
Username   Password

County Directory

Whats Going On?

Wed Jun 19
County Appointments Meeting
Thu Jun 27
District AGM - Wolsey
Fri Jun 28
CMAT Lightweight Camping
Sat Jun 29
CMAT Lightweight Camping
Sun Jun 30
CMAT Lightweight Camping
Fri Jul 05
Wet Weekend
Sat Jul 06
Wet Weekend
Sun Jul 07
Wet Weekend
Mon Jul 08
ACC's Meeting
Wed Jul 10
District AGM - Waveney Valley

Helpdesk

Helpdesk
The CMAT team are holding another 'Mountain Awareness' course at Boxford Spinney on Nov 18th. 

The course has been designed to provide adults in Scouting with the enhanced skills required to further their interest and ability in hill walking within the UK and to enable those adults to work towards being assessed for a Scout Association Hill Walking Permit.

Subjects to be covered will include:

a) The Vital Culture, an Outline of the Permit Scheme in Scouting and how it relates to external Award schemes, ie Mountain Leader and Hill & Moorland Leader Awards.  
b) Map and Compass work - types of maps, map marginal information, terms used, grid references, scales, contours, relief, magnetic variation.
c) Route Planning and Navigation – route finding skills in poor visibility, micro navigation, monitoring progress
d) Leadership and Party Management including compliance with Scout Association Rules, formal notifications and Logbooks
e) Clothing and equipment, group equipment, Camp craft and food hygiene
f) Weather forecasts, Safety, hazards, security on steep ground, risk management and water safety
g) Emergency Aid and Incident Management, Access and local Codes of Practice

Application form and further details are on the CMAT team page.